Wind the wheels on the bus, how I wonder you any wool?*

I’ve never been to a parenting class but I’ve often wondered what it is that they teach in them. Is it all practical stuff about weaning and the naughty step or do they do useful things too? If I ran parenting classes (hold that thought, I forsee a future blog post) they would definitely include nursery rhymes.

A recent Ofsted inspection at our nursery asked them to do more interactive stuff that parents could join in with, so they’ve been picking a nursery rhyme of the month and telling us what it is. At nursery they have singing sessions and the idea is that the children can sing the rhymes at home too. What a great idea that must have seemed, at least in the minds of the Ofsted folk.

In reality, of course, I haven’t sung these songs for years and some of them are completely new. I had a brief refresher course when E and I went to rhyme time in the local library each week but that was over a year ago and I’ve had no cause to sing them since. If I’ve sung E anything, at bedtime or during the day, it’s either been whatever’s been on the radio (everything from Brimful of Asha to ACDC to Aretha Franklin and this week she was dancing to Springsteen – that’s my girl) or I’ve sung songs from The Muppet Show.

This was fine when E wasn’t speaking either but she’s picked up talking so quickly and can remember lots of words to rhymes as well as the actions. I was in the kitchen one afternoon and she was reading Sweet Dreams Maisy which features a scene where Maisy sings Twinkle Twinkle to her soft toy panda. E stood up and started singing and doing the actions – very sweet. I could easily remember that one. Then we moved onto Wind the Bobbin Up.

This one, I have to admit, is completely new to me. I wondered if it was something people sang outside the South, bearing in mind its vague industrial overtones. I asked S with his family history of lacemaking. “Never heard of it,” he said. So much for that – we Googled the words. For those of you who don’t know, it’s an odd song with two distinct parts – the Day in the Life of nursery rhymes if you will. E loves it. Neither S nor I know the tune so we each sing it differently and E doesn’t care about tunes either so if you’re in the Basford area at bedtime and hear some caterwauling, it’s probably us.

Other problems have included Miss Polly had a Dolly which I seized on when they mentioned that was rhyme of the month and then realised I only knew the first two lines. The dolly is destined to remain sick. I’m a Little Teapot frequently comes unstuck around the third line so a line of grizzling noises ensues before we come back in with a strong “tip me up and pour me out!”

Rhymes are fast making up a daily part of our lives. To combat this, I must sit down and find some good pop songs I can teach E instead, if only for the sake of my sanity. Suggestions below please.

*Blogging tip for the day: If you are a serious blogger looking to up your SEO, I recommend not using bloody stupid titles like this – it will only confuse people.

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Observations and general nonsense, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wind the wheels on the bus, how I wonder you any wool?*

  1. Notagoth says:

    ABBA, Queen, Michael Jackson and Annie Lennox were the sing-a-longs of my childhood. Queen are particularly good as they have lots of bouncy catchy songs, and bits that involve making noises rather than actually singing (eg. Bohemian Rhapsody, Don’t Stop Me Now etc.)

  2. Mum says:

    Once I’d read it 3 times I liked the title! I can do Miss Polly & I’m a Little Teapot so feel free to ring!

Leave a Reply

