Drawing breath

It’s been the kind of day where I haven’t even been able to go to the toilet without there being a small person wanting to come too.

I have three days when I’m not at work and practically every week I have some kind of idea that I will achieve things in those days, that it’s work that exhausts me and takes up the time. Every week my ideas fall hopelessly by the wayside. E is not yet adept at independent play on a regular basis. I have no idea if there’s a good age for her learning to do things alone or if I have to teach her not to follow me around, asking to be carried while I make her lunch, asking to stir things when I’m cooking, and so on. On a good day she sits and plays with her play dough without too much bother and once in a while she can play with her books or something but mostly she wants to be with us.

I don’t mind most of the time, and I realise that she’s yet to learn the self sufficiency you see in many only children, but sometimes it’s so exhausting. All I wanted today was 30 seconds in which to have a pee. A respite from “shall we sing Twinkle Twinkle?” or “shall we make cakes?” or “I need play outside.”

I think it would be so much easier if it wasn’t just me and S. If there was an occasional grandparent or neighbour. But there isn’t. S has things to do at the weekends too – this weekend new tyres for the car and some garden maintenance. And then he likes to read the paper. So hiding behind the pages and being part deaf, he is good at ignoring E. Not all the time I mean, he reads to her and builds railway tracks.

This weekend she’s also been quite tired and therefore grousy. It’s ok in the mornings but by mid-afternoon you’re grousy too. Today we went for a walk before we all went mad and had an adventure – exploring a vintage Routemaster bus (it was a wedding fair) the driver got on and didn’t check for passengers before starting the engine and setting off to leave. Then we collected leaves to do some rubbings tomorrow (it’s supposed to rain all day) and had a great time in the playground with some friends we bumped into and their children.

The trip saved our sanity but there was still lots to be done when we got in. And now it’s 10.30 and only half a list ticked off.

My apologies for the cross blog post but if you have any tips on how to deal with teaching independence to a child, if only so you can wee alone, please do share them. I need all the help I can get.

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Observations and general nonsense, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drawing breath

  1. mumofchaos3 says:

    You’re not on your own! No magic answer here but a resounding ‘I understand!’ On days where I come home from work I have guilt about not spending the day with my children, then on home days I have guilt about finding them occasionally overwhelming. Motherhood is guilt! With my oldest (5yo), I can set the oven timer for 5 minutes to empty the dishwasher or make a phone call and tell him in that 5 minutes he has to go and read a book or find a toy or play in the garden. That often (sometimes!) works!

Leave a Reply

