Peace

I had a moment on Easter Sunday which you will only appreciate if you too have a full time job, a small child and no one locally who can just pop in to help.

S was doing something, possibly having a shower, and E was with her grandpa who read all her library books. Which left me to go into the garden and plant out Easter eggs for our hunt. It was a chilly morning, but there were blue skies and I was accompanied by a range of lovely birdsong. The garden is a large one, with only a few formal bits and I had a lot of eggs to distribute – E’s grandpa having already gone out to plant their eggs. I wandered round, placing eggs (and stickers and hair clips) in trees and under bushes.

The moment lasted maybe only 15 minutes and I made an unlikely Easter bunny. But for those 15 minutes I had a lovely sense of warmth, peace and happiness – all just for me. You don’t get this kind of thing often when you have someone around who follows you to the toilet. Even if you say “I’m just popping upstairs, I’ll be back in a minute,” she stands at the bottom of the stairs and yells “MUMMY!” or she starts to climb the stairs to be with you.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being with her. But those 15 minutes were such a treat.

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

